Ghent Holidayland 1: Ghent, city of art and culture

Nic Balthazar is in love with Ghent and he is certainly not alone. He takes you during 8 episodes to well-known and lesser-known places in Ghent during “Gent Holidayland”. In this episode: Lights on Van Eyck, the Gentenaar, the Belfry, sailing a boat through the center and the Seven Senses Tour.

Ghent Holidayland 2: Ghent is very wise

The Castle of the Counts, Design Museum Ghent and the Ghent Altarpiece. Discover a new episode every two weeks.

Ghent Holidayland 3 - Ghent is full of artists

There is no shortage of art and culture in Ghent. On the Bijloke site you will not only find the city museum, but also a music center and an art school. Prefer works of art on your plate? Nowhere are there so many young star chefs who are working with local and sustainable food with such passion and attention. In this episode: the Bijloke site, the STAM and rock 'n roll top chefs

Gent Holidayland 4 - Art and trampolines in the green

In Ghent we like to keep our art in the Green. From the Ghent Altarpiece in the shadow of the Maaseikplein, to the MSK and the SMAK between the trees of the Citadel Park. Prefer to just go to the beach? A few minutes by bike from the center you are in the Blaarmeersen.

In this episode: the Maaseikplein, the Museum of Fine Arts (MSK), the Museum of Contemporary Art (SMAK), the Blaarmeersen and our Ghent entrepreneurs.

Gent Holidayland 5 - Ghent with a bike under your butt

Crossing Ghent like a boss? You do that by bike. Ghent has one of the largest car-free centers in Europe and is a cycling city through and through. Children are really born here with a bicycle under their buttocks. Prefer cycling in the green? That is possible in our beautiful province, East Flanders. You cycle along the Scheldt and the Leie, get some fresh air in the Parkbos or imagine yourself as a real castle lady or lord along some beautiful castles.

In this episode: Emperor Charles, St Bavo's Abbey, St Peter's Abbey, cycling in Ghent and the surrounding area and the Castle Route.

Ghent Holidayland 6 - Ghent is the best of the best

There is so much more in Ghent than what visitors know well. Everyone knows our 3 well-known towers, but we also have a fourth, the Boekentoren. Our beguinages also remain a well-kept secret for many. You will discover it all in the sixth episode of Gent Holidayland.

In this episode: the Boekentoren, our Beguinages, walking and cycling in the Lys region and a culinary world trip in Patershol in Ghent.

Ghent Holidayland 7 - The industrial glory of Ghent

During the industrial revolution, Ghent turned out to be a real factory city. You can still experience this to this day in the our Industrial Museum, a museum full of testimonies, machines and objects from the first and second industrial revolution. Along with the gigantic wealth and poverty that this evolution brought about, came the social struggle. In this episode you will discover beautiful buildings such as Ons Huis and Kunstencentrum Vooruit.

In this episode: Opera Ghent, the Industry Museum, Kunstcentrum Vooruit, Huis Van Alijn, the Patershol and shopping in Ghent.

More information

For more information, please visit the Gent Holidayland website.

Ghent Holidayland 1 : Gand, ville d'art et de culture

Nic Balthazar est amoureux de Gand et il n'est certainement pas seul. Il vous emmène pendant 8 épisodes dans des endroits connus et moins connus de Gand pendant "Gent Holidayland". Dans cet épisode : Lumières sur Van Eyck, le Gentenaar, le Beffroi, la navigation en bateau dans le centre et le Seven Senses Tour.

Ghent Holidayland 2: Gand est très sage

Le Château des Comtes, le Design Museum de Gand et le Retable de Gand. Découvrez un nouvel épisode toutes les deux semaines.

Ghent Holidayland 3 - Gand regorge d'artistes

L'art et la culture ne manquent pas à Gand. Sur le site de Bijloke, vous trouverez non seulement le musée de la ville, mais aussi un centre de musique et une école d'art. Vous préférez les œuvres d'art dans votre assiette ? Nulle part il n'y a autant de jeunes chefs étoilés qui travaillent avec une telle passion et une telle attention avec une cuisine locale et durable. Dans cet épisode : le site Bijloke, le STAM et les grands chefs du rock'n roll

Gent Holidayland 4 - Art et trampolines dans la verdure

À Gand, nous aimons garder notre art dans le vert. Du retable de Gand à l'ombre de la Maaseikplein, au MSK et au SMAK entre les arbres du parc de la Citadelle. Vous préférez simplement aller à la plage ? A quelques minutes en vélo du centre, vous êtes dans le Blaarmeersen.

Dans cet épisode : la Maaseikplein, le Musée des Beaux-Arts (MSK), le Musée d'Art Contemporain (SMAK), le Blaarmeersen et nos entrepreneurs gantois.

Gent Holidayland 5 - Gand avec un vélo sous les fesses

Traverser Gand comme un boss ? Tu fais ça à vélo. Gand possède l'un des plus grands centres sans voiture d'Europe et est une ville cyclable de part en part. Les enfants naissent vraiment ici avec un vélo sous les fesses. Vous préférez faire du vélo dans le vert ? C'est possible dans notre belle province, la Flandre orientale. Vous pédalez le long de l'Escaut et de la Lys, prenez l'air dans le Parkbos ou imaginez-vous comme une vraie dame ou seigneur de château le long de beaux châteaux.

Dans cet épisode : l'empereur Charles, l'abbaye Saint-Bavon, l'abbaye Saint-Pierre, le vélo à Gand et ses environs et la route des châteaux.

Ghent Holidayland 6 - Gand est le meilleur des meilleurs

Il y a tellement plus à Gand que ce que les visiteurs savent bien. Tout le monde connaît nos 3 tours bien connues, mais nous en avons aussi une quatrième, la Boekentoren. Nos béguinages restent également un secret bien gardé pour beaucoup. Vous découvrirez tout cela dans le sixième épisode de Gent Holidayland.

Dans cet épisode : le Boekentoren, nos béguinages, des balades à pied et à vélo dans la région de la Lys et un tour du monde culinaire à Patershol à Gand.

Ghent Holidayland 7 - La gloire industrielle de Gand

Pendant la révolution industrielle, Gand s'est avérée être une véritable ville-usine. Vous pouvez encore en faire l'expérience à ce jour dans notre Musée Industriel, un musée plein de témoignages, de machines et d'objets de la première et de la deuxième révolution industrielle. Avec la richesse et la pauvreté gigantesques que cette évolution a entraînées, est venue la lutte sociale. Dans cet épisode, vous découvrirez de magnifiques bâtiments tels que Ons Huis et Kunstencentrum Vooruit.

Dans cet épisode : l'Opéra de Gand, le Musée de l'Industrie, le Kunstcentrum Vooruit, Huis Van Alijn, le Patershol et le shopping à Gand.

Plus d'information

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez visiter le site Web de Gent Holidayland.